## "YEAR OF SUSTAINED AND DISCIPLINED WORK"

## **PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY**

## **CIRCULAR NO. 17/1989**

**REFERENCE NO. PS: 20/1** 

FROM: Permanent Secretary,

Public Service Ministry

TO: All Permanent Secretaries,

Heads of Departments and Regional Executive Officers

DATE: 1989-08-23

**SUBJECT:** 

Payment of Responsibility Allowances to:-

- (i) Clerks II performing as Clerks III
- (ii) Typist / Clerks II/I performing as Typist Clerks III

Subject to what is stated at paragraph 2 below, approval is given for the responsibility allowance paid to Clerks II who perform the duties of Clerk III to be increased from eighty four dollars (\$84.00) per month to one hundred and thirty dollars (\$130.00) per month with effect from 1st April, 1989, inclusive, and for those officers who were / are in receipt of a responsibility allowance at the rate of sixty-three dollars (\$63.00) per month to be paid at the rate of ninety-eight dollars (\$98.00) per month with effect from the same date.

- 2. However, the total amount payable to officers in accordance with the preceding paragraph (i.e. the substantive salary plus responsibility allowance) should not exceed adjusted minimum salary of the Clerk III position (i.e. \$1,075.00 per month).
- 3. Approval is also given for Typist Clerks II who perform the duties of Typist Clerk III to be paid a responsibility allowance of \$44.00 per month with effect from 1989-04-01. Those Typist Clerks II who are not fully qualified for the post of Typist Clerk III along with Typist Clerks I will be paid a responsibility allowance of \$33.00 also with effect from the same date. Requests for the payment of a responsibility allowance to Typist Clerks II/I for performing the duties of Typist Clerk III should continue to be submitted on the usual format to this Ministry for consideration.
- 4. Please bring the contents of this Circular to the attention of all those concerned, but particularly to those in the Personnel and Accounting Units of your Ministry / Department / Region.

J.E. Sinclair,
Permanent Secretary,
Public Service Ministry.